PDA

View Full Version : Is there any risk in installing Linux on my PS3?

bamhm182
03-01-2007, 12:22 AM
I've never used Linux before, so I wanted to try it out, but I've got no idea how to do it on my computer and still keep Windows, but it seems easy on the PS3, I was just wondering if there's any chance at all that I could break my PS3 installing it? Because if there is, I'm not going to do it. Just thought I'd ask some of the smarter people on here what they think.

Berserk_Fury
03-01-2007, 01:02 AM
I don't really know anything about Linux, but when I asked about it on the Playstation gamer advisory panel, I was told some extreme technical stuff that can happen, so I decided not to risk it.

Constantine
03-01-2007, 01:10 AM
It's easier and safer on your computer, unless you want to kill the harddrive in your PS3. This is what I would do if I were you:

-Google "Linux Live CD" and download one (it doesn't really matter.) Burn the ISO.

-Because you downloaded a 'Live CD' all you have to do is reboot your computer with it in the drive and it will boot from the CD, giving you a free preview of Linux.

If you want it on your computer for good, I'd do this:

-Download Acronis Disk Director (You know where to find it)
-Partition your harddrive (It doesn't need to be that big - a couple of gigs
-Go to Start>All Programs>Acronis>Disk Director>Install OS Selector
-After it's done it's thing, look for directions on how to write Linux to the partition you made earlier.

Happy Dual-Booting.

Constantine

bamhm182
03-01-2007, 01:17 AM
Omg, if you have stuff on your Hard Drive DO NOT do this, lol. I found out the hard way that even if you just tell it to partition 10 GB of your hard drive twords another operating system, it erases everything. So all my stuff is gone, Games, Movies, Music, Messages, Pictures, Gamesaves, EVERYTHING, gone. :'( Oh well, most of it is from my computer, and I can redownload the games, but still, I was FAR in Resistance :cry: :cry: :cry: